In Deep Smit: A New Blog Post Theme

Fridays often do not mean the start of party time for me. Like many in healthcare (and retail, real estate, publishing, and many other industries) the weekend doesn’t necessarily mean time off.

So I’ve decided since I can’t really get into the I’m-Thankful-Its-Friday mentality, I will instead embrace It’s Friday… I’m thankful.

Meaning every Friday, I intend to post something I am happy about or grateful for.

So, to start out the first blog post in this vein… what am I in deep smit with today?

Parents who vaccinate their children. On schedule, or as close to it as possible.

I love you guys!

With recent concerns over potential vaccine risks and with the public’s memory of many preventable infections fading, there have been more and more parents choosing not to vaccinate their kids.

50 years ago, kids routinely became gravely ill or died from infections that we hardly ever see anymore. We hardly ever see those diseases anymore BECAUSE we vaccinate.

We are in the midst of another measles outbreak. The disease is able to spread because without universal vaccination we are losing our herd immunity.

And it isn’t only the unvaccinated folks who are at risk.

With any vaccine, there will be a small percentage of “non-responders” who won’t have a strong enough response to be immune. They can get infected if they are exposed, even though they got their shots on schedule. Not to mention the folks on chemotherapy or with suppressed immune systems.

When parents choose not to vaccinate their kids, it isn’t only their own child’s health at risk.

I know it’s no fun to drag your kids in for check-ups and bring them home crabby and aching. So I’m so grateful for you super moms and dads doing the right thing for your kids and for everyone else’s.

So, gang… what are YOU in deep smit with today?

6 Responses

  1. I hate this, my son had the MMR jab, amd I supposed to feel sympathy with people whose children get sick and therefore infect others and spread diseases that could be practically erradicated by now if everyone had their child immunised.

    It makes me very very mad to see this happening, but what can you do? Had people the time to inform themselves and not just be scaremongered by news reports with very little basis in fact they would probably have had their child vaccinated in the first place.

    http://webescape.wordpress.com/

  2. I disagree, children die less often from many diseases because we’ve created medicines that are better equipped to fight alongside childrens immune systems. Vaccinations are all too often poorly tested before being widely mandated.

    In our effort to fight infection before it starts we’ve forced viruses to adapt to our vaccine-filled immune systems and our obsessively sterilized homes. We have no one to blame but ourselves for these re-emerging outbreaks and super viruses.

    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
    Instead of a Renaissance, maybe Penndel should just pave a road.
    http://will86aber.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/penndel-borough-and-robbins-ave/

  3. will86aber,

    There is plenty of evidence from well-designed scientific studies demonstrating the effectiveness and safety of the required immunizations. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but you might want to inspect your sources a little more closely.

    While you’re right that we can treat patients with these infections a little better than we could 50 years ago, with viruses there is often nothing curative, even today. All we can do is help support the patient through as best we can. Vaccines prevent the infection in the first place.

    The measles outbreak is not a result of an adaptive organism. It’s the same old measles as always.

    The outbreak is a simple result of people not being appropriately vaccinated. The cases reported so far are contained to people who did not receive their vaccinations as scheduled.

    If you’re interested in accurate information on vaccines, you might try the CDC website or speak to another board certified physician.

  4. This is a hard topic, and I believe that people need to be educated and then deside what is right for the individual child. I’ll even make this harder. I believe people should be educated and then pray about what is right for the individual. That’s what I do, and i had my first to vaccinated, my third not, and my fourth partly.
    I feel like my third child could now be vaccinated for some things, and because of Heather’s advice, I will pray about it. So there. Throwing in some religion with the debate. 🙂

  5. I’m in deep smit over healthcare workers who keep ungodly hours and give up precious personal time in the interest of dispensing thorough and thoughful care to their patients.

    I’ve observed the phenomenon first hand, for many years now, as a patient and as a professional, and it ain’t always about the BMW. It rarely is, and when it is, it’s immediately apparent.

  6. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

