This is What Happens When I’m Not Busy With Editing…

Since I first started writing The Edge of Memory in October, I have spent virtually every minute I’m alone in the car working on it in my head. I commute 75 minutes each way. So that’s a lot of time.

But I think I’m really done now with editing, until/unless an agent or editor has suggestions for further changes. And the plot details of my next project are still percolating.

I finished a 26-hour shift this morning, and then hit the car for the long ride home. This is the result.

So, with fair warning that the following post will be full out ridiculous, proceed at your own risk…

New from Imaginary Label, a division of Totally Bogus Records, I present the novelist’s soundtrack:

  1. Every Day I Write the Book (Elvis Costello)
  2. Language (Suzanne Vega)
  3. All I Ever Wanted (Depeche Mode)
  4. Paperback Writer (The Beatles)
  5. The Book of Love (The Monotones)
  6. Grease is the Word (Grease Soundtrack)
  7. I Promise You I Will (Depeche Mode)
  8. More Than Words (Extreme)
  9. Open Book (Cake)
  10. The Word (The Beatles)
  11. Words (The BeeGees)
  12. The Story (Brandi Carlisle)
  13. Bookends (Simon & Garfunkel)
  14. I Could Write a Book (Tony Bennett)
  15. The End (The Doors)

And, if you order now, you’ll receive our special Agents Who Blog companion soundtrack, featuring…

For the powerful ladies of BookEndsAin’t Nuthin’ But a She-Thing (Salt-n-Pepa)

For Nathan Bransford, the only acceptable rhetorical questionsBlowin’ In the Wind (Bob Dylan)

For the folks at Folio, embracing the tidal turn towards electronic books and readersThe Electric Slide (Marcia Griffiths)

For desperately query-guideline clarifying Jennifer JacksonAll I Really Want (Alanis Morrissette)

Sadly, the song “Stompy Boots of Doom” has yet to be recorded, so for Colleen LindsayThese Boots Are Made for Walkin’ (Nancy Sinatra)

For Jonathan LyonsThe Guitar (They Might Be Giants) “Hush my darling, be still my darling, the Lion’s on the phone…”

For Ipod-addicted Kristin NelsonPut Your Records On (Corinne Bailey Rae)

For Query Shark Janet ReidManeater (Hall & Oates)

So, gang… what else should we put on this imaginary soundtrack?

12 Responses

  1. I am thrilled to be honored with such a classic song! 🙂

  2. How about the Indigo Girls’ Airplane for Cameron McClure (and the drunken Russian)?

  3. Hey, Colleen! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. I submit Jason Mraz “You and I Both”

    “Cause you and I both loved
    What you and I spoke of
    And others just read of
    Others only read of the love, the love that I love.

    See I’m all about them words
    Over numbers, unencumbered numbered words
    Hundreds of pages, pages, pages for words
    More words then I had ever heard and I feel so alive”

    Plus, he has a song called “Wordplay” for the second book 🙂

    And I found the perfect song for trying to act “normal” in public when you’re mid-scene and have to go out for more coffee! Blue October’s X Amount of Words

    Major points for The Story and Bookends. GREAT LIST!

    🙂
    GG from Query Tracker Forums

  5. Oooh – I want to order now! The Agents Who Blog selection is seriously inspired! Alsso, I am in awe of your brain working so well after a 26-hour shift and a 75 minute car-ride.

  6. Oh! I thought of another one that is necessary… I will add it above.

    How could I have forgotten The Door’s The End for the novelist soundtrack?

  7. Hee! I would like to place a pre-order for both releases, please.

  8. How about “If You’re Not the One” by Daniel Bedingfield for any agent who says “Not for me?” Ha, ha!

  9. How about Ghost by the Indigo Girls for Miss Snark? I’m in love with her ghost. 😉

  10. That’s a great list. Put me down for both. And I agree with GG on the Blue October song. But how do we pull off acting normal? I haven’t yet.
    Sarah from QT (querytracker.net)

  11. Hold on, I’ll get my credit card! Do you have a playlist for when you are writing? I love music and sometimes I like to make up playlists for my books. I have folders labled things like ‘fight scene’ which has a suprising amount of Rob Zombie in it…

    I’m curious what the playlist for The Edge of Memory would be!

  12. Hi, Sherry!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I have a huge playlist I listened to while I was writing The Edge of Memory. In fact, I still have that mp3 disk in my car stereo and listen to it often.

    I did, however, put together a “Soundtrack Disk” for my novel in the middle of writing it. I was totally procrastinating when I did it, but I’m glad I did, because I really like how it turned out. 🙂

Leave a comment