Yeah, That Looks About Right: Illinois Solutions for the State Budget Crisis

Looks like Illinois is finally coming up with creative solutions for the state budget crisis, but I’m not sure they’ll be successful.

I was driving my husband home from an appointment yesterday, and we passed one of those big old billboards announcing the lottery jackpot amount.

It looked a bit like this (*Note– this photo is just a women’s fiction author’s rendition. The AMA and Mr. Kiddoc both highly recommend against taking photos while driving at highway speeds.):

No kidding. The first placeholder (for the occasions where the jackpot amount reaches triple digits) was sporting what appeared to be a negative sign.

Now… if they can just get 20 or so “winners” to cough up 44 million dollars each over the next 10 months, we’ll just about break even for 2010.

5 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness. That is so sad, but so hilarious. Love the evil laugh!

  2. Ask not what your state budget can do for you, ask what you can do for your state budget!

  3. Wonderfully witty, and sadly true for too many states…
    here in Mary-land, all is not Merry since the Blizzard hit 2 weeks ago.
    If we quadruple our county and property tax for the next ten years we MAY just squeak out of the current salt/road maintenance debt… but I doubt it.

  4. Oh my goodness! Virginia is in the same boat. We’ve just elected a new governor and I’m hoping he will turn things around. We’re having to cut the budget in so many places, including education that I know folks are going to pitch a fit. But it’s either that or raise taxes. I suppose the cuts are the lesser of the two evils.

  5. Still laughing about this one, though I forgot to comment until now.

Leave a comment