What’s Mine is Yours

So the other night as we finish dinner, I pick up my empty tea mug and head to stove to put the kettle on.

“Can I have some tea, too?” my husband asks.

“Sure. Where’s your mug?”

He points to the one in my hand. “I think that one’s mine.”

“Nope. Yours is probably upstairs.”

“YOURS is upstairs.”

This is going nowhere fast. “Dude. No.”

Always a tower of jello, I go upstairs and retrieve it.

“See? Here’s your mug. It was right where you left it.”

He shakes his head. “I told you. That’s YOUR mug.”

“It’s my mug? I left MY mug on the table next to YOUR chair with YOUR brand of tea bag inside?”

A long pause.

He reaches for it and chokes back a smile. “What I meant was, this was your mug before we got married. And if we ever get divorced, you’ll retain full custody of this mug. I mean, come on… it has sunflowers all over the sides.”

I laugh. I can’t help it.

“Does that mean I still get tea?”

Stinker.

8 Responses

  1. lol! Who says married life is boring? You gotta love it!

  2. Very cute!

  3. I know it is a great start. I would like a finish,.:)

  4. Funny! My husband and I have had the same types of exchanges.

    Jackie

  5. My husband is our family tea maker, pourer and drinker. Me? I prefer hot cocoa, especially in sunflower mugs.

  6. Hi Heather-
    You and I are living parallel existences.
    1) A tower of jello myself-I would have retrieved the mug too.
    2) My husband and I would have made a joke about the whole thing, while I made him some tea.
    Happy New Year!
    Stephanie

  7. Ahahaha! I can totally hear him saying that.

  8. You guys are so cute! 🙂

Leave a comment