Well… That’s a Little Freaky, Frankly.

So, I had to coordinate a series of interviews today for a new doctor in my department. I offered to take her to lunch afterward, but she needed to leave for an afternoon shift. Which left me all ready to go to lunch, but completely on my own.

This doesn’t happen often. Due to the nature of my work schedule and home life, I am *never* left to my own devices but free to go out to lunch. So I decided to have sushi.

I heart sushi, but I rarely get to eat it as my husband has decided it’s a) overpriced and b) liable to give you worms. He will not listen to reason on either of these points. Never mind that I’m a doctor. He’s convinced. And he never sees any sense in giving up a good theory just because it isn’t true.

Since I was eating alone, I thought I’d bring a book in with me. Cuz, well… I like books. And cuz you never look pathetic eating alone if you have something to do.

As it happens, I was between books and ready to start something new. Next on the TBR deck? The Time-Traveler’s Wife. Yes, I know I’m a bit behind. 🙂

So I’m sitting, slurping miso soup and snarfing sushi, reading the opening of TTTW. And a thought pops into my head… I am channeling moonrat.

I finished the prologue and the first chapter between pieces of maki. Then I drained my green tea mug and made for the door.

I had only begun pulling out of the parking lot, when I was struck by a powerful urge for a Dairy Queen cone. And since I was already being decadent with the sushi-for-one, I decided to roll with that urge. I can’t remember the last time I had one.

I seriously considered tweeting moonrat to ask if she had a thing for soft serve, but I restrained myself.

A few hours later, while I waited for dinner to cook, I picked up the novel where I had left off… where Henry meets Clare for the first time (for her).

And I read this:

“Well, they have to eat each other; they can’t go to Dairy Queen and get a large vanilla cone with sprinkles, can they?” This is Clare’s favorite thing to eat in the whole wide world (as a child. As an adult Clare’s favorite food is sushi…)

Now, okay, fine… I went with a large chocolate cone, but it’s still a bit deja vu-ish, don’tcha think?

11 Responses

  1. Oooh, totally creepy. Like a 10 on the freak factor. 🙂

  2. That’s actually pretty cool!

    ~Jen

  3. That is strange. And funny.

    Coincidentally, I’m currently reading TTTW right now as well.

    I didn’t think it would be for me, but two of my friends insisted. What do you think of it so far?

  4. Yes, weird & deja-vuish, for sure. I can’t wait to see TTTW movie when it comes out, although I’m sure the book will still be better. As a Librarian myself, I have a thing for ninja punk Librarians named Henry, just don’t tell my husband that. 😉

  5. Whoa cool.

    And sushi is my favorite food too. 🙂

  6. Hi Heather-
    Put me down for yes, VERY weird! Your intuitive girl!
    xo

  7. OMG, very weird! And funny, I also just started TTTW. I’m on that exact chapter now!

  8. muWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    i LOVE soft serve. have i never told you about my special relationship with Mr Softee?!?!

  9. Wow, that is weird. Kinda cool, too.

    I heart Sushi, too. Husband hates it. Can’t get good Sushi in Iowa, though. Only a close imitation of.

    Incidentally, I also have one of those husbands who hates to give up a good theory…

    : )

    Liz

  10. Love it! You deserve every bite. Why is it that the spouses of doctors are like that? My best friend is married to a pediatrician, and she asks me… a wanna be writer for medical advice!

Leave a comment