Willy Wonka & The Publishing Industry, Part II

You may remember a few months ago, I posted that Everything I Needed To Know About Publishing, I Learned from Willy Wonka.

At the time, I admitted it was not really everything I needed to know.  As proof, here are a couple additions to that list:

7.  One is Enough for Anyone. Moonrat made a lovely post yesterday in celebration of the Little Novel That Could.  What is striking about this story to me is that sometimes, one champion makes all the difference for a project.  Certainly, in order to get a book published, a lot of different people need to believe it can be successful.  But sometimes just one person… if it’s the right person for the right project… can make them believe.

8.  What Are You At, Getting Terribly Fat? I participate in several online writers groups where people share their query letters for critique, and I’m surprised at the number of intelligent, otherwise well-informed folks who seem to be unaware of appropriate lengths for novels.  Colleen Lindsay of FinePrint posted a great breakdown of wordcounts by genre a while back.

Class Re-Dismissed!

5 Responses

  1. For a student to teach his teacher is presumptuous and rude!

  2. I am glad to see that you used screengrabs from the original Willy Wonka movie and not the Johnny Depp remake. 😀

  3. I did not learn anything from the remake except that Johnny Depp alone is not sufficient to make up for mucking with a classic. 😉

  4. […] I’ve added a couple more points to this list. Part II is here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)New MissionAuthor and Computer Scientist, Hank […]

  5. I love Wonka – we did a great party – if anyone is lookin for Wonka party stuff – visit my page http://www.squidoo.com/wonka-party – it is pretty comprehensive for wonka party planning !

Leave a comment