Words: They’re Not Just for Writing Anymore

One of my chittie peeps found an awesome site where you can create Wordles.

What is a Wordle, you ask?

Well, I didn’t know either.  Turns out what a Wordle is– is HIGHLY COOL!

You can paste or type in passages of text or have Wordle grab it from a blog feed if that’s your thing.  I pasted in my synopsis for The Edge of Memory and made some ubercool word art:

Or maybe you prefer this option…

I also did one for my blog feed:

You can change fonts, color schemes, the number of words, etc.  The word size is dependent on how frequently you use the word in the sample text.

I seriously Photobucket them. I thought about doing Wordles for my next In Deep Smit entry, but I just plain couldn’t wait! Photobucket

So, my writer friends… I challenge you to stick YOUR synopses into the Wordle creator. Or other blog readers… go to town with whatever strikes your fancy! Let’s see what awesomeness we can generate. Put a link in the blog comments to your best creations!

12 Responses

  1. Awesome!

  2. So COOL! I can’t wait to try this.

    Abi

  3. I think you’re TRYING to ruin my life! 😀 Here’s mine. http://wordle.net/gallery/wrdl/202182/Shadows

    And my own blog post because seriously, this is the coolest thing I’ve seen in ages.
    http://elanajohnson.blogspot.com/2008/09/words-gotta-love-em.html

  4. I’ve tried Wordle, and found it a great deal of fun, but like your first example up there, I saw that I’m using my main characters’ names A LOT. I’m going to do some research into 3rd person narration with multiple characters to see how the authors I admire avoid typing their character’s name a gazillion times. Sort of like writing in first person without overusing “I.”

  5. How fun! Thanks for this, Heather. Elana is right. You always find the cool stuff!

  6. Oh dear. I see time wasting in my future… 😉

  7. Hehehehehe…..it’s like word vomit. The vomit of words is all over my screen. Different colors. Pretty.

  8. Nope, nope, nope! Fell into the time-sucking black hole of Wordle several months ago. Not going there EVER again. Too much fun.

    I like the one with the black background. DRAMA!

  9. But did you Wordle your synopsis, Mary? *g*

  10. Okay…so, I tried it and I LOVED it!!!

    Here’s my link, stop by and check it out…

    Wordle Art

  11. I have become infected by the Wordle. I can feel my body…changing. Becoming. The strength, the heightened senses…dear God, I’ve become like a superhero! WORDLES RAWK!!

Leave a comment