I’m with David Letterman and John Scalzi…

I don’t even know what to say about the McCain “suspension” of the campaign. And perhaps most surprising to me is the fact that people are applauding him for it.

I have Republican friends… There. I said it.

They are intelligent, reasonable folks who simply disagree with me on how things should be done. And I am FLUMMOXED that they are supporting this move.

Yes, absolutely it is appropriate to make the current economic crisis a priority. It is appropriate to cancel public appearances. But announcing a “suspension” is clearly a political move.

As David Letterman said last night, if the candidate is needed in Washington, that’s the time for the VP candidate (who should be completely capable of stepping in without warning– that’s sort of the definition of VP, isn’t it?) to say “I got this.”

John Scalzi’s take on it made me laugh. Sir Robin of the 2008 election.

I absolutely agree with Obama. A crisis like this is exactly the time when America needs to hear from the people who will be handling things in a few months.

So let’s hear it.

2 Responses

  1. I think it was a good move on McCain’s part. He can help pull the Republicans together. No one does that better than he does. He has friends on both sides and he will help to work this out. I’m not sure Obama needs to be there. Although they need to get this out fast and sign it. Obama is driven by politics and does not want to see his momentum lose fire. McCain is driven by what is right for his country.

  2. Hi, Eve! Thanks for stopping by.

    I’m not saying McCain shouldn’t go to Washington or cancel appearances when necessary. I’m only referring to announcing he’s suspending the campaign.

Leave a Reply

