Earthquake! No really.

The songs for the day are “I Feel the Earth Move” and “You Shook Me All Night Long”

My sleepy thought process at 4:30-ish am:

Huh… bed shaking… why?… mattress vibrating… hey, I wrote about feeling the mattress vibrating in my book when the train goes by the cheap motel… maybe I’m dreaming that I’m in my book… it’s 4:30… that sucks… windy… house never shook like this from the wind before though… and now it’s stopped… but the wind didn’t stop… earthquake?… no way… this is Illinois not California… Hey, it’s only 2:30 in California, but still too late to call Clara… durn birds are chirping outside… screams of the dying dark… shut up, little bird, I want to go back to sleep.

Aftershock at 10:15-ish this morning.  Seriously.  In Chicagoland.

Curiouser and curiouser.

One Response

  1. When I saw this in the paper this morning the first thing I did was wonder what you’d felt! My goodness. I’m glad you didn’t have any worse effects.

    (Also, hee! to screams of the dying dark! Through the sweet green icing etc. etc.)

Leave a comment