Can I Quote You on That? (Back on the Chain Gang)

Well, folks, it’s time for another blog chain post.

This chain was started by the fabulous Michelle McLeanJessica Verday posted before me and Abi will be up next.

The topic this week is…

Share a favorite poem, quote, joke, anecdote, or anything of the sort that deals with writing, writers, the publishing industry, or the other strange and unusual tidbits that belong to our little world.

Now, the folks most interested in talking about writing are those called to do it. Which makes it no surprise that there are many different quotable sources for this topic.

I’m going to focus then, on one author in particular: Maya Angelou. With my poetry background, I have a soft spot for Ms. Angelou. I was lucky enough to hear her speak once. It’s always fabulous to hear a person in love with the sound of words. 🙂

First…

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.

Then if one is lucky…

If one is lucky, a solitary fantasy can totally transform a million realities.

Then a fabulous mantra for the publishing process…

All great achievements require time.

And finally:

I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.

So, blog chain ladies… you up for a little ass-kickin’?

13 Responses

  1. Nice quotations! I like the one about all great achievements requiring time, but I think my favorite is…

    “If one is lucky, a solitary fantasy can totally transform a million realities.”

    It just leaves you with so much hope.

    *psst- Kate’s already posted…I’m up next. 😉

    Abi

  2. Oooh, I love the one about carrying an untold story. That one is my favorite. I’m copying and pasting that into my file of quotes. In fact, I love them all! Great job, Heather, very inspiring.

  3. […] and then, we repeat the process with a new topic for discussion. Check out the previous post at Heather’s blog and the next post will be published at Carolyn’s blog within the next couple of days. If you […]

  4. Excellent! Love them all 😀 And I’m in a particularly snarly mood today, so I’m going to have to go with the life-is-a-bitch-so-kick-some-ass quote as my fave 😉

  5. That must have been wonderful to hear an author you love speak in person!

    My favorite quote is the solitary fantasy one – it just makes me think of all the books that I have read and fallen in love with and how they helped to transform my realities.

  6. The second one is my favorite!

  7. Great quotes!

  8. Happy Thanksgiving — Hope it’s gobblicious!

    Abi

  9. I love the ass-kicking one. Of course. 😀

  10. Great quotes!

    🙂 Terri

  11. I read the first quote and let out this huge sigh I loved it so much! Then I read the second…and the third! They’re all so good! I’m partial to the last one though (mostly because I think Eden would love it hehe)

  12. […] I am the second link in the chain this topic round, so the subject choice and previous post are at Sandra’s blog and the next post will be published at Elana’s blog within the next couple of […]

  13. Yes, yes, and yes! Great post and great picks!

Leave a Reply

